For up to date information, please see our new website


Times & dates of the competitions for season 2019/20

Stage 2 Competition - 5pm Fridays: October 18 through December 6, Break, January 31 to March 6 (March 13 Final)

Stage 1 Competition - 4:30pm Fridays @ Eastern Oval: October 25 through December 6, Break, January 31 to February 28

Master Blasters - 4:30pm Fridays @ Eastern Oval: October 25 through December 6, Break, January 31 to February 28

Junior Blasters - 4:30pm Fridays @ Eastern Oval: October 25 through December 6, Break, January 31 to February 28

(There will be no programs run on November 8th due to Ballarat Show Day public holiday).

Format & game structure

There will be two stages for the Girls Only Competition, with game structures following the Cricket Australia guidelines. The Stage 1 competition is the more modified level and is therefore targeted at beginner players. Stage 2 is the slightly more advanced level and is targeted towards girls who have previously played cricket.

See details of each stage in the below table.


Stage 1

Stage 2

Age Group

10-12 years old (not limited to)

13-15 years old (not limited to)




Day & Time

Friday 4:30pm



90-120 minutes

90-120 minutes

Team Numbers



Pitch Length






Ball Type/Size

Soft mod (125g)

HARD BALL (142g, orange)

Summary focus


Playing & competing

Match format




Stage 2 matches will take place at fixtured venues

Stage 1, Master Blasters & Junior Blasters will take place at the Eastern Oval.

Player registration & MyCricket requirements

All participants must be registered to their club on MyCricket.

Nominated Club teams will be visible under the FIXTURES tab.

Players need to be selected in their teams for each match (squads are accepted) by 8pm Thursday prior to match day for publication in Friday's edition of The Courier will all other teams..


Competing teams will be responsible for scoring games. Each nominated team will receive a free scorebook.

Match results and player scores must be entered into MyCricket by 12pm Sunday's so they can be published with all other Junior cricket matches in Tuesday's edition of the Courier., and to calculate ladders for finals.
It is highly recommended that the MyCricket Scorer app is used to minimise manual data entry.


Junior Umpires will be requested and used for all Stage 2 matches where available at the Club’s cost ($20 per team). Where no Umpires are present it will be the responsibility of each team to provide an Umpire.

Playing uniforms

Clubs need to provide a coloured shirt (vibrant and bright club shirts are encouraged).


Clubs are to provide teams with required equipment (helmets, pads, bats, gloves). Stage 2 matches will need stumps and boundary cones supplied by the home named team in the fixture. Stage 1 matches will be setup with stumps and marker cones upon arrival at the Eastern Oval each week.

Match Balls

Clubs will need to provide their own match balls. All can be purchased through Rebel Sport Ballarat (with at least 1 week's notice)
Stage 2 - Kookaburra Crown 142g Hard Ball - Orange
Stage 1 - Kookaburra Star (Rookie) 142g 'Soft' Ball - Pink

Marketing & promotion

BCA ask clubs to please assist in this and promote the competition throughout their playing members/supporters and aligned schools. The BCA will support any club promotions.


BCA Operations & Female Cricket Coordinator Greg Wakeling via or 0407 244 467 for further details.

If you are not already aligned with a club, please see the list and contact details below for the clubs that will be fielding a girls only team in these competitions. If you are interested in playing in any of these competitions, please get in touch with your selected Club.


Club Contact

East Ballarat Cricket Club

Mark Ryan - Junior/Girls Cricket Coordinator

0477 527 334 -

Wendouree Cricket Club

Tim Argall - Junior/Girls Cricket Coordinator

0412 344 345 - -

Mt Clear Cricket Club

Steve Young - Girls Cricket Coordinator

0439 658 219 -

Ballarat Redan Cricket Club

Andrew Ballesty - Girls Cricket Coordinator

0419 142 498 -

Coronet City Cricket Club

Craig Murdoch - Girls Cricket Coordinator

0438 313 858 -

Buninyong Cricket Club

Jeremey Byrne - Junior Coordinator

0407 254 643 -

North Ballarat Cricket Club

Ben O'Brien - Junior Coordinator*

0417 579 486 -

If you have any questions or for more information, please contact the Ballarat Cricket Association by emailing or calling 0407 244 467.

Kind regards

Ballarat Cricket Association